Atlanta Fruitman’s Blog


Rain…Rain
April 20, 2009, 12:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I got my first mosquito  bite today.  I guess their out now. I was hoping they would wait for a while longer so I could enjoy hanging out side – not that I am running for cover… yet, but I will need to be more mindful of covering my body when I am outside. I saw a small swarm around a container of water a few days ago.  I have found that if I put a little dish-washing liquid in the water, their little baby crib becomes a trap. The soap changes the water tension so when they land on the water, they fall in a drown and any larvae that are in the water suffocate.Yeah, I’m a saddest. I actually keep some water outside now to draw them in. Their biting early this year it seems. Our nights are still a bit cold. Maybe cause it is because all of this rain we have been having. I dont know.  Maybe it its me.

This rain is really strange though, after all, we are in a drought pattern right.  Is this the end? Are we going to make up for all the lost rain four the last 4 years? It seems so. Dont get me wrong I like rain. Everything is growing fast and green like I have seen in a long time. There are its down side for me too (not just the bugs). All this rain came during a week when my cherries and almonds were blooming. The bees dont really like to work in the rain, so the flowers suffered in pollination and plus all the wet seems the make mold flourishing the blooms. I will not have a good crop this year. I am not so worried about the Nanking – the production could be cut by half and I still would have plenty to eat and share. I just wanted to have good crop of Stalla cherries to show off.  Its still a bit early to know for sure, I dont think I will have more than a pint or so.

My fingers are crossed.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m with ya on the rain, fruitman. I like rain too, but too much of a good thing can at times not be good. Thus far, it’s been ok for most of my things; i have great carrots, leeks, chives, catnip that was 4.5 ft tall, and I’ve gotten a harvest of herbs already (oregano, mint, catnip, thyme, stevia). I was going to have a huge blueberry crop, but that last freeze took half of them. The rain was good for one thing–I was fortunate enough to get wild blackberry vines from a friend’s yard. The rain got them going quickly and they’re growing nicely. Unfortunately, they aren’t growing fast enough to pollinate the domesticated ones and make them sweeter. I’m hoping that the wild ones won’t lose their sweetness being near the domestical crop. domesticated blackberries are horrible; large, but no taste to them. wild ones are best. well, i’m off to mulch before the next rain! take care.

Comment by melissa

Hey there
I was thinking of planting some trees in my backyard and preferably a few fruit trees
can I plant lemon and apple trees?
Thanks!

Comment by Vita

Apples would be a good choice but not lemons – unless you wish to grow it in a pot and and bring it inside in the winter.
If this is your first time growing fruit tree, might I suggest making a list and growing the easiest first. Apples (in my opinion) are somewhat in the middle range of being challenging.

Comment by atlantafruitman

Hey Fruitman!
Finally, it’s SPRING!!!

So what are your recommendations for propagating grape vines? Any suggestions for that Red Sweet Plantation Pomegranate?

Thanks

Comment by Melissa

I have not done grape, but I have heard they are pretty easy from dorment cuttings. Here is a site that I go to for all grape questions. this looks to be a good explanation on grape propagation

http://www.bunchgrapes.com/rooting_of_cuttings.html

As for the Pomegranate, do you mean again propagation? If so, you have to cut the dormant wood ( you may still have time now).
dip in rooting hormone and plant in a moist sandy mix or vermiculite. Keep the cuttings in cool dark place. you want to keep them from growing to much till the roots begin to grow. They will take a long time to root – a good 4 months at least. You may wish to put your cuttings (atleast some of them) in a clear plastic cup with drain holes.
This way you can see roots as they reach the side of the container.

Comment by atlantafruitman

Hey Fruitman,

Thanks for the grapevines site.

As per the pomegranate, no, I don’t mean progagation. I purchased an actual 3 – 4 yr old tree from Ty Ty Nursery in Ga. I’m planning to plant it in full sun in the front yard. I hope it might produce fruit this year since it’s 4 yrs old.

See ya.

Comment by Melissa

I would wait a year or two before expecting fruit. A young tree may produce flowers – especially if it is grafted, but the plant need to get established before fruiting. If per chance you do get a good crop of fruit, I would prune the fruit just one or (so at least you will taste it). You dont want to stress the tree till it comfortable in its new home

Comment by atlantafruitman

Your style is really unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from.
Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just
book mark this blog.

Comment by Danielle




Leave a Reply

